Tags

, , , , , ,

I only get to take maybe 2 vacations a year, and this year was Oklahoma and Cape Cod.  I posted about Oklahoma in May for my cousin’s wedding. Then I went to Cape Cod in August, and it is one of my favorite places to vacation.  My Aunt Cynthia and Uncle Tom live in Brewster, MA.  Ray and I had planned on taking the trip and bringing my grandmother to see Tom, Cynthia, all of her grandchildren and great grandchildren.  Ray happened to get a new job and started the Monday before we were going to leave, so he could not go.  I was very disappointed, as this was going to be his first time visiting Cape Cod.  We hope to go together next year.

My family started renting a house in East Dennis, MA in 1981 (before I was born).  I started going every summer when I was young.  My grandfather would drive my grandmother and I the long 7 hour drive, listening to Patsy Cline, and cursing at the traffic.  My mom came a couple times, and we usually picked up my Aunt Dot in New Haven, CT on the way.  I have very fond memories of the trip and love reminiscing.  Uncle Tom and Aunt Cynthia bought a house in Brewster in October 2004, and this is only the second time I was able to visit since then.

The first day on the beach I stayed under an umbrella, and still got burnt!  It was beautiful weather, not too hot, perfect temperature, no humidity.  There was wonderful food every night, with plenty of wine to sample.  The kids put on a talent show the last night Mommom and I were there, it was very entertaining.  We had a wonderful time, and I can’t wait to go back!

Front of the house

20140811_110444

Beach day

20140808_120408

Sunset

20140810_192845-1

Dinner table set

dinner table

Pizza night! Look at all these toppings!

20140809_175503

Just one of the many pizzas made

fresh pizza

More pizza, almost gone! 9 pizzas later, we still had a lot of leftovers!

pizza

Opening birthday presents!

opening presents

20140809_202902

Tom M., Tom T. and Matt did a 68 mile bike ride in honor Tom M.’s birthday!  I love the shirts they had made, Murray Metric – A Cape Cod Tradition 🙂

Murray bike ride

