Tags

, , , ,

Does anyone actually like packing?? I sure as heck do NOT!  Ray and I have been doing a little here and there, preparing in advance so we are not packing at the very last minute, but then we get distracted.  Football is on, or Ralphie has to go outside, really anything that we can come up with as an excuse not to pack…  Even with the helpful websites and lists that we can refer to, nothing will make it any easier.  Of course, in our minds, we would love to have everything organized and label the boxes by what room to put them in.  If we don’t know what room we want it to go in, how can we label it properly??  I know we can decide once we start unpacking, if that day will EVER get here haha.  I started labeling boxes by what is in them, then when we start moving in we will just have to decide.  The only good thing about packing is getting rid of things that we can drop off at Goodwill or just put in the trash pile.  I am super impatient so I find myself throwing things out willy nilly and starting to not care about those notebooks I kept from a college course, or those negatives from a camera I had in high school.  I wouldn’t call myself a pack rat, but I do tend to keep things I feel I might need later on in life for some reason or another.  This is a great time to get rid of them so I don’t end up with extra crap I will most likely never remember I had if I didn’t start going through everything again anyway!

In researching tips for moving, I found that most sites assume you have professional movers.  Well wouldn’t that be helpful!  Unfortunately, it is an extra cost we just cannot afford.  Pinterest is GREAT for helpful hints, and I don’t know how I survived without it for all those years!  Here are a few pins that I refer to daily and hope will be helpful to anyone else in this predicament.  If you have any suggestions, please do share!

http://www.buzzfeed.com/peggy/brilliant-moving-tips

Image

I love this idea to keep everything on the hangers and not spend extra money on the wardrobe boxes!

Image

A clear bin is definitely a good idea for the essential items you will need on hand right away like toilet paper, paper towels, hand soap, trash bags, eating utensils, phone chargers, etc…

I hope moving day goes smoothly, 8 more days until settlement, 12 until move in!

